The Devils Wisdom

It sneaks in quietly through an unlocked back door. A tiny little thought, a tinge of resentment and a pinch of disgust. He seems to be more successful than I. He is better than me at something, I don’t like him for this fact. I need to be number one. I need to be the one that people talk about. I need to be the one that people are the most impressed with. I need to restore my preeminence, but I need to do it in subtle ways or I might be unmasked and shamed. What’s the plan? At first nearly imperceptible boasts about myself followed by subtle, soft & gentle lies about my competitor. Slowly I build myself up and tear him down. I am the champion again. This is the devil’s wisdom that destroys our world. God’s wisdom pursues peace and rejoices in the successes of others with a pure heart. God preserve me from this devilish darkness and give me that pure heart.
James 3:14 & 16 – But if you are bitterly jealous and there is selfish ambition in your heart, don’t cover up this truth with boasting and lying…For wherever there is jealousy and selfish ambition, there you will find disorder and evil of every kind. IMG_1069.JPG

About Dennis Arve Wilkinson

Happily married, blessed with four children, thrilled to have started Meta Communities in 2011. Born in Calgary, raised in Winnipeg, undergraduate education in Wisconsin (NIU) & Seminary education in Minnesota (CBTS). During my time in the Midwest I gained about a dozen years of pastoral experience. It has been my privilege to travel to many parts of the globe and divine providence has smiled on me by allowing me to be mentored by several men of great character over the course of my life time. I am a follower of Jesus - though not without struggle. I am committed to joining God in the restoration of all things by telling, showing, and welcoming people into the good news of God's story. God's story of redemption in Jesus is the best story the human has -- I am letting the better story shape my life and helping others do the same.

Posted on November 24, 2014, in Wrestling with the Bible, Wrestling with Whatever and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

