Am I Better Than You?

Psalm 106… Save us O Lord our God!
The people of God had forgotten God, they had rebelled against him, they refused to listen to him, committed idolatry, they were envious and jealous, they committed murder they embraced evil practices and grumbled, they let their desires run wild. The result was their own misery and destruction. In many regards the people of God today — Christians — are just as broken. It’s the cry at the end of the Psalm that distinguishes the Christian from the non-Christian. The Christian cries out  “God help me” Under no circumstances does a Christian feel like he is better than someone else or somehow more worthy of blessing. A Christian is simply a broken person who is crying to God for help.

despair

About Dennis Arve Wilkinson

Happily married, blessed with four children, thrilled to have started Meta Communities in 2011. Born in Calgary, raised in Winnipeg, undergraduate education in Wisconsin (NIU) & Seminary education in Minnesota (CBTS). During my time in the Midwest I gained about a dozen years of pastoral experience. It has been my privilege to travel to many parts of the globe and divine providence has smiled on me by allowing me to be mentored by several men of great character over the course of my life time. I am a follower of Jesus - though not without struggle. I am committed to joining God in the restoration of all things by telling, showing, and welcoming people into the good news of God's story. God's story of redemption in Jesus is the best story the human has -- I am letting the better story shape my life and helping others do the same.

Posted on January 24, 2013, in Wrestling with the Bible and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

